Enjoy Gluten Free Beers for your New Year’s Resolution

Some of the ingredients used to brew gluten free beer.

Gluten-free beers, while often associated with traditional beers, are not actually a type of beer. They more often than not contain no alcohol. This can be seen in the way it is regulated. The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has authority over these beverages. Therefore, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) have no authority. 

In some cases, a gluten-free beer might contain up to 0.5% alcohol by volume, This is significantly lower than the 4%-7% ABV found in traditional beers. This is why gluten-free and non-alcoholic beers tend to be grouped together. They both lack the amount of alcohol in common beers.

Where did gluten free beers come from?

In an effort to make alcohol more accessible, many breweries have begun offering gluten free beer options. While most traditional beers are brewed with wheat and barley, which contain gluten and can cause issues for those whose systems cannot tolerate it, the introduction of gluten free beers has allowed these individuals to still enjoy a cold one at the end of a long day.

Initially, they were made using ingredients like millet, corn, and rice. However, more recent recipes may include buckwheat, quinoa, or sorghum. Whatever their ingredients may be, these beers offer an alternative that can be enjoyed by everyone.

How is gluten free beer brewed?

While even low levels of gluten can have a detrimental effect on individuals with allergies or sensitivities, determined beer drinkers now have the option to consume a safe, reliably crafted gluten free beer. Whether made with rice, millet, buckwheat, or alternative grains and starches that do not contain gluten, approved gluten free beers must demonstrate they create less than 20 parts per million (PPM) of gluten in order for them to be labeled as such.

Gluten-removed beer is gaining popularity too. It is a way to enjoy an adult beverage without the usual risk of gluten sensitivities. The process involves using enzymes to break down the gluten particles into smaller pieces. This results in less risk of triggering any reactions.

However, the gluten-removed processes haven’t been well tested yet, and their effectiveness is still uncertain. If someone is looking for certainty, search for gluten-free beers made from quinoa, buckwheat, and sorghum. Stay away from traditional grains like barley or wheat.

Those looking for more variety can also find beers created from millet, corn, and rice that are completely free from gluten. While it’s not a perfect replacement for traditional beer yet, those at risk of gluten sensitivities have some options that weren’t available even a few years ago.

Don’t let food sensitivities get in the way of your fun!

In recent years, the food industry has shifted significantly to provide more inclusive options for everyone. This means that diets no longer require people to avoid certain items that previously would have been off-limits. Not only does this provide more choice and convenience when it comes to snacking and drinks, but it also ensures that everyone is able to participate in social events with ease. With an ever-growing selection of free-from food and drinks available, it’s never been simpler and more enjoyable. Satisfy your cravings while adhering to dietary requirements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2023 Glacier, All Rights Reserved.